Add the first photo and get an additional 2 points
The monastery complex is one of the largest churches in the world, considered a masterpiece of Silesian baroque. To explore the available room is princely, monastic church of Our Lady, dining abbot and a refectory summer, and being prepared is also a library. In the rooms you can see exhibitions devoted to, among others, the history of sugar and Silesian art tombstone. The complex has an area 2.5 times larger than the Wawel Castle and the longest 223-meter façade of the baroque in Europe. The monastery complex consists of: Basilica of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary dating back to the mid-fourteenth century, the monastery abbots palace from the seventeenth and eighteenth century, the church of St. Jacob outbuildings. The palace is charged lies in its interior up to 300 rooms. The Order of Cistercians was brought to Lubiaz in the twelfth century by Prince Boleslaw the Tall. Monastery - with princely generosity - has become one of the largest landowners in Lower Silesia. He is known for his ascetic life and monumental buildings Order visited the monastery until 1810. After the secularization of the Prussians were deported over 500 valuable paintings, a rich collection of books, a lot of valuable sculptures, coins and musical instruments. Buildings devoted to a hospital for the mentally ill, and during the war - on factory production of parts for missiles. The present abbey care of Lubiąż Foundation, which today oversees restoration work.