Norway    Oslo    Astrup Fearnley Museum
number 12 in the city

Astrup Fearnley Museum

Local name: Astrup Fearnley Museet

Astrup Fearnley Museet is a private museum of contemporary art that organizes numerous temporary exhibitions. His collection includes works of eminent artists, including: Francis Bacon, Andy Warhol, Gerhard Richter, Cindy Sherman and Damien Hirst.

The museum's collection also includes examples of the work of famous sculptors, e.g. the French-American artist Louise Bourgeois, the Austrian Franz West and the British Anish Kapoor.

The museum was opened in 1993. In 2012, its headquarters was moved to a new building designed by the Italian architect Renzo Piano. The museum's activities are financed by the Stiftelsen Thomas Fearnley foundation, Heddy og Nils Astrup, founded, among others by the heirs of the well-known Norwegian shipowner Thomas Nicolay Fearnley (son of the painter Thomas Fearnley).


Attractions inside

    Astrup Fearnley Museum map
    Strandpromenaden 20252 Oslo , Norway