Add the first photo and get an additional 2 points
The Orthodox monastery is located on the picturesque Danube gorge. A 1.5-kilometer path leads to it, along which there are 7 wooden crosses, commemorating soldiers who fought during the First World War. During your visit, it is worth paying attention to the colorful frescoes and decorations both inside the temple and above its main entrance.
The monastery was built in 1936-1939 on the initiative of the journalist and writer Pamphili Seicaru, who wanted to thank God for saving his life during the First World War. Its patron is St. Anna, which is a reference to Saicaru's mother's name. When the monastery was built, the then bishop of Banat did not consent to its consecration, explaining that it was built without the consent of the diocese.
Shortly after the end of World War II, the Russian authorities took over the monastery and turned it into a restaurant. Only in 1990 the monastery was handed over to the Church and consecrated.