Portugal    Lisbon District    Lisbon    Jerónimos Monastery
number 5 in the city

Jerónimos Monastery

Local name: Mosteiro dos Jerónimos

The Jeronimos Monastery in Lisbon is an exemplary example of the Manueline style built of limestone. In 1907 he was declared a national monument. It is on the UNESCO World Heritage List. He was entered on it in 1983. In 2007, he was declared one of the Seven Wonders of Portugal. It is located in the Belem district. The church has the graves of Manuel I, Maria Aragon, Jan III, Katarzyna Habsburg and tombstones commemorating Vasco de Gama, Luis de Camoes and Fernando Pessoa.

The Jeronimos Monastery stood on the place of the church of St. Mary with Bel. The idea of its creation was born in King Manuel I in 1496. Construction works continued from 1501. The construction was mainly financed from the spice trade. In 1604 construction was completed and the building was proclaimed a royal pantheon. The monastery was entrusted to the Order of St. Jerome, who performed this role until 1834. In the nineteenth century, the church became the property of the newly created parish here.
In 2007, during the European Union summit, the Treaty of Lisbon (Treaty Reforming the European Union) was signed in the areas of the Order.


Attractions inside

    Jerónimos Monastery map
    Praça do Império 1400-206 Lisbon , Portugal