Żagań is a historic town decorated with a castle complex with a geometric park. In the past, the city was the capital of a separate principality owned by the most important families of Europe at that time.
The city was founded in the 13th century and soon became the capital of a separate principality ruled by the Piasts. In later centuries, it passed from hand to hand, and the owners were, among others Wettins and Habsburgs. In 1627, Albrecht Wallenstein, the most famous commander of Austrian troops during the Thirty Years' War, bought the principality. On his initiative, the construction of the Renaissance defensive palace in Żagań was started, which is now the main attraction of the city. The building was extended by the Lobkowice family and obtained a unique appearance in Poland, combining the features of a French Baroque and Italian Renaissance palace. Around the residence, there is a geometric park established in the 17th century and a landscape park from the 19th century.
Another of the valuable monuments of Żagań is the post-Augustinian monastery complex, which dates back to the Middle Ages. It includes the gothic church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the interior of which was rebuilt in the 18th century in the baroque style, farm buildings and the residential part of the monastery, which houses a magnificent 18th century post-Augustinian library with preserved decor.
During World War II, there were several prisoner-of-war camps for soldiers in Żagań and the surrounding towns. pilots from the RAF and the US armed forces. The escape of one of them was the prototype of the script of the movie Wielka Escape, and the camps in Żagań were commemorated in the Museum of POW camps.